ashley corr

p   h   o   t   o   g   r   a   p   h   y

Home logo

Gallery 2 > On Location (UK) > Lake District National Park, Cumbria

01.  Sunset over Lake Bassenthwaite


02.  Newlands Valley, from Catbells


03.  Keswick Launch, Derwentwater


04.  Keswick Launch, Derwentwater

17.  Scales Tarn & Sharp Edge, Blencathra


18.  Kirkstone Pass  


19.  Ashness Jetty, Derwentwater


20.  Ashness Jetty, Derwentwater

13.  Hawkshead


14.  Buttermere, towards Fleetwith Pike


15.  Buttermere, towards Fleetwith Pike


16.  After The Rain, Ullock Pike, from Scarness

09.  Ullock Pike, towards Bassenthwaite


10.  Ullswater, from the shore at Glenridding


11.  Hope Park, Keswick


12.  Misty Reflections at Buttermere

05.  Derwentwater, from High Spy


06.  Skiddaw Summit


07.  High Spy & Catbells, towards Skiddaw


08.  High Spy & Catbells, towards Blencathra

21.  Pooley Bridge, Ullswater


22.  Pooley Bridge, Ullswater


23.  Tarn Hows


24.  Last Light, Ashness Jetty, Derwentwater

The Lake District, also known as The Lakes or Lakeland, is a mountainous region in North West England. A popular holiday destination, it is famous for its lakes, forests and mountains (or fells) and its associations with the early 19th-century writings of William Wordsworth and the other Lake Poets.


Historically split between Cumberland, Westmorland and Lancashire, the Lake District is now entirely in Cumbria. All the land in England higher than three thousand feet (914.4 m) above sea level lies within the National Park, including Scafell Pike, the highest mountain in England. It also contains the deepest and longest lakes in England, Wastwater and Windermere.


The precise extent of the Lake District was not defined traditionally, but is slightly larger than that of the National Park, the total area of which is about 885 square miles (2,292 km2). The park extends just over 32 miles (51 km) from east to west and nearly 40 miles (64 km) from north to south,[8] with areas such as the Lake District Peninsulas to the south lying outside the National Park.


The principal radial valleys are (clockwise from the south) those of Dunnerdale, Eskdale, Wasdale, Ennerdale, Lorton Vale and the Buttermere valley, the Derwent Valley and Borrowdale, the valleys containing Ullswater and Haweswater, Longsleddale, the Kentmere valley and those radiating from the head of Windermere including Great Langdale. The valleys serve to break the mountains up into separate blocks which have been described by various authors in different ways. The most frequently encountered approach is that made popular by Alfred Wainwright who published seven separate area guides to the Lakeland Fells.


All images are © copyright of Ashley Corr Photography and are protected by law. No unauthorised copying, downloading or reproduction in any other format is allowed without written permission from the owner