ashley corr

p   h   o   t   o   g   r   a   p   h   y

Home logo

Gallery 2  >  On Location (UK) > Lake District National Park 3, Cumbria

01.  Dawn Breaks, Glencoyne, Ullswater


02.  Sun Rising, Glencoyne, Ullswater


03.  Ashness Jetty, Derwentwater


04.  Sunset, Ashness Jetty, Derwentwater

17.  Castlerigg Stone Circle, near Keswick


18.  Castlerigg Stone Circle, near Keswick


19.  Derwent Water, from Crow Park, Keswick


20.  Derwent Water, from Crow Park, Keswick

13.  Upon Reflection, Lake Derwentwater


14.  Buttermere Reflection


15.  Night Falls Over Lodore Jetty, Derwentwater


16.  Milky Way Rising, Lodore Jetty, Derwentwater

09.  Tranquil Waters, Kettlewell, Derwentwater


10.  Summer Sunset, Kettlewell, Derwentwater


11.  Water Droplets, Kettlewell, Derwentwater


12.  Swan Lake, Derwentwater (June 2016)

05.  The Lone Tree, Buttermere (Landscape)


06.  The Lone Tree, Buttermere (Portrait)


07.  Lodore Jetty, Derwentwater


08.  Misty Waters, Lodore Jetty, Derwentwater

The Lake District, also known as The Lakes or Lakeland, is a mountainous region in North West England. A popular holiday destination, it is famous for its lakes, forests and mountains (or fells) and its associations with the early 19th-century writings of William Wordsworth and the other Lake Poets.


Historically split between Cumberland, Westmorland and Lancashire, the Lake District is now entirely in Cumbria. All the land in England higher than three thousand feet (914.4 m) above sea level lies within the National Park, including Scafell Pike, the highest mountain in England. It also contains the deepest and longest lakes in England, Wastwater and Windermere.


The precise extent of the Lake District was not defined traditionally, but is slightly larger than that of the National Park, the total area of which is about 885 square miles (2,292 km2). The park extends just over 32 miles (51 km) from east to west and nearly 40 miles (64 km) from north to south,[8] with areas such as the Lake District Peninsulas to the south lying outside the National Park.


The principal radial valleys are (clockwise from the south) those of Dunnerdale, Eskdale, Wasdale, Ennerdale, Lorton Vale and the Buttermere valley, the Derwent Valley and Borrowdale, the valleys containing Ullswater and Haweswater, Longsleddale, the Kentmere valley and those radiating from the head of Windermere including Great Langdale. The valleys serve to break the mountains up into separate blocks which have been described by various authors in different ways. The most frequently encountered approach is that made popular by Alfred Wainwright who published seven separate area guides to the Lakeland Fells.


All images are © copyright of Ashley Corr Photography and are protected by law. No unauthorised copying, downloading or reproduction in any other format is allowed without written permission from the owner