ashley corr

p   h   o   t   o   g   r   a   p   h   y

Home logo

Gallery 2 > On Location (UK) > Cotswolds

01.  Lower Slaughter


02.  Lower Slaughter


03.  Lower Slaughter


04.  Back Streets, Bourton on the Water

17.  St. Mary's Church, Lower Slaughter


18.  The Old Mill, Lower Slaughter  


19.  Lower Slaughter


20.  Conversation Piece, Bourton on the Water

13.  Bourton on the Water


14.  Motor Museum, Bourton on the Water


15.  St. Edward's Church, Stow on the Wold


16.  The Book Box, Stow on the Wold

09.  The Broadway


10.  The Broadway


11.  The Broadway


12.  The Broadway

05.  Lower Slaughter


06.  St Catharine's Church, Chipping Campden


07.  Shopping Arcade, The Broadway


08.  Fresh Produce, The Broadway Deli

The Cotswolds is an area in south central England containing the Cotswold Hills, a range of rolling hills which rise from the meadows of the upper Thames to an escarpment, known as the Cotswold Edge, above the Severn Valley and Evesham Vale. The area is defined by the bedrock of Jurassic limestone that creates a type of grassland habitat rare in the U.K. and that is quarried for the golden coloured Cotswold stone.The area, designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in 1966, is considered to have unique features derived from the local Cotswold stone; the predominantly rural landscape contains stone-built villages, historical towns, and stately homes and gardens.


There is evidence of Neolithic settlement from burial chambers on Cotswold Edge, and there are remains of Bronze and Iron Age forts. During the Middle Ages, the area became prosperous from the wool trade--indeed the name is usually attributed the meaning, sheep enclosure in rolling hillsides, and large "wool churches" were built. The area remains affluent. Typical Cotswold towns are Burford, Chipping Norton, Cirencester, Moreton-in-Marsh and Stow-on-the-Wold. The Cotswold town of Chipping Campden is notable for being the home of the Arts and Crafts movement, founded by William Morris at the end of the 19th and beginning of the 20th centuries.


The Cotswolds is roughly 25 miles (40 km) across and 90 miles (145 km) long, stretching south-west from just south of Stratford-upon-Avon to just south of Bath. It lies across the boundaries of several English counties; mainly Gloucestershire and Oxfordshire, but also parts of Wiltshire, Somerset, Worcestershire, and Warwickshire. The hills give their name to the Cotswold local government district in Gloucestershire, which administers a large part of the area. The highest point of the region is Cleeve Hill at 1,083 ft (330 m), just to the north of Cheltenham.


All images are © copyright of Ashley Corr Photography and are protected by law. No unauthorised copying, downloading or reproduction in any other format is allowed without written permission from the owner